Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, cost price
Sharing is caring

Malwarebytes Review

FREE
6.5

Features

6.8/10

Pricing

8.1/10

User-Friendliness

7.7/10

Protection

2.3/10

Support

4.5/10

Pros

  • Fast scanning
  • Easy to install & use
  • Intuitive dashboard & controls
  • 14-day free trial of Premium version

Cons

  • No parental controls
  • Browser extensions are separate
  • Failed all but one industry standard test
  • Premium one-device package is expensive
  • Latest laboratory review was 2015

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price. You can download Malwarebytes on this site by clicking the download link on the review above. You’ll find a license in the detail description of the product. Follow the setup and read our review before proceeding to download Malwarebytes for free.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price

Malwarebytes Antivirus Review

Malwarebytes Antivirus is a very fast service that, as one of the few of its kind, offers a 14-day trial. However, its lab results disappoint and we’re not too sure about its interface, either. Read our full Malwarebytes review for the details.

 

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.


Decent
Starts from $ 333 per month
 
Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

 

Malwarebytes was formally founded Jan. 21, 2008, by Marcin Kleczynski and Bruce Harrison. Kleczynski informally started the company while he was living at home with his parents in Chicago in 2004 after the family computer got a virus. Since then, it has grown to over 600 employees in five locations around the world.

Unlike most companies, Malwarebytes lets you download and install the premium, paid version with all the functionality intact for a 14-day free trial. After that, it can only be used to clean infected devices until you purchase the product, but that 14-day trial will give you a taste for what it can do.

In this Malwarebytes review, we’ll look at the installation and use of the package, the available settings, it’s fast scanning, different levels of protection and the reports it generates for your use. We’ll also cover its pros and a couple of unfortunate cons that keep it from making the list of the best antivirus software.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

 

Strengths & Weaknesses

Pros:

  • Fast scanning
  • Easy to install & use
  • Intuitive dashboard & controls
  • 14-day free trial of Premium version

Cons:

  • No parental controls
  • Browser extensions are separate
  • Latest laboratory review was 2015
  • Failed all but one industry standard test
  • Premium one-device package is expensive

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

Features

75% – Good

Malwarebytes has a well-designed and intuitive dashboard. We give it high marks for layout and ease of use. A column down the left side of the screen has “scan,” “quarantine,” “reports” and “settings” categories. In each category, there are tabs across the top for different subdivisions.

The Premium features displayed on the right side of the dashboard show four main protection settings, including ransomware protection, which are set to “on” by default.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

Settings are comprised of six tabs: “application,” “protection,” “scan schedule,” “exclusions,” “account details” and “about.” The first two include a button in the upper right corner to restore the default settings. That is a handy tool that some antiviruses hide or tuck into a hard-to-find spot. We like that it is so readily available.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

The application tab refers to Malwarebytes, with sections on how it is updated, notification settings, scan priority, language selection, proxy server selection (the default is off), usage and transmission of threat statistics back to the service (the default is on).

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

“Protection” has settings for web protection, a button for managing the protected applications list and options to add applications to it. There’s also an advanced settings button that brings up a sub-menu for anti-exploit settings for many applications, such as memory protection, application behavior, and Java protection.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

Malwarebytes doesn’t offer webcam protection as Kaspersky Anti-Virus does. It didn’t even quiz us about the built-in camera on our laptop. Given the burgeoning privacy concerns in the news, that is concerning. The lack of a password manager bothered us, too, as did the lack of online backup and a file shredder.

It does have real-time protection and ransomware protection.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

Features Overview

 
Starts from$333per month

Features

Password manager
 
File shredder
 
Multi-OS support
 
Parental control
 
Disk cleanup
 
VPN
 
Profiles
 
 

Protection

Ransomware protection
 
Webcam protection
 
Real-time monitoring
 
Secure browser
 
Download protection
 
Phishing protection
 
Firewall
 
 

Operating System

Windows
 
macOS
 
Linux
 
Android
 
iOS
 
 

Usability

Desktop UI
 
Mobile application
 
Browser extension
 
 

Support

Help Center
 
Forum
 
Live Chat
 
Phone
 
Email
 
24/7 Support
 
Video Tutorial
 
 

Misc

Free Plan
 

Pricing

90% – Excellent
Malwarebytes Premium
  • Full package (1 device)
1-year plan3.33 / month
$39.99 billed every year
Malwarebytes Premium For Home
  • Full package (3 devices — extra $20 for 10 devices)
1-year plan5.00 / month
$59.99 billed every year
Malwarebytes for Business (4 packages)
  • Custom pricing for next 3 packages. Multiple devices. Advanced features.
1-year plan10.00 / month
$119.97 billed every year

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

Malwarebytes does something rather unusual among antivirus companies. It gives you a free 14-day trial period of its single-device Premium package with all its features. That gives you a chance to explore and test its functionality without spending anything upfront. After the trial, the Premium features stop working and it functions only as a remedy to clean one infected device.

It is available for Windows, macOS, Chromebook, Android, and iOS. Browser extensions aren’t included in the package. Instead, they can be downloaded separately for free on Chrome and Firefox. We would have preferred to see them integrated with the antivirus software, though.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

The Premium and Premium For Home packages differ only in the number of devices they protect and the price. For example, Home charges you $20 for each additional device over three. Other than that they’re identical.

With the Premium For Home option, you’re able to mix and match Windows, macOS, Android, iOS, which is only available on the App Store, and Chrome OS. That is a nice touch for those who aren’t burdened by brand name loyalty.

The business versions have advanced features, including application hardening, exploit mitigation, payload analysis, anomaly detection, machine learning, asset management and more. Pricing starts at $119.97 for the basic business package, then it’s customized after that based on your requirements and number of devices to be protected.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

User-Friendliness

85% – Very Good

The initial download and installation are quick and easy. Malwarebytes’ website includes simple instructions that give you a head’s up on what to do without insulting your intelligence. The process is intuitive enough that you won’t need the instructions, though.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price

Once installed, the initial scan only took three minutes and 46 seconds to check 173,193 objects on our machine. Other antivirus packages we tested on the same test machine took over an hour. That said, its speed came at the expense of 100 percent CPU utilization during the scan. It dipped once to around 75 percent then went right back up.

As a test, we launched another application during the scan and Malwarebytes gave up the CPU time to let it run normally, demonstrating that it is not a resource hog. It is willing to share. This gives you the best of both worlds: a fast scan when it is running alone, plus the security of knowing it won’t slow down other applications if they are running simultaneously.

The report generated after each scan is simple and easy to read. It has all the information you need on two tabs. The first is a one-page summary. The advanced tab shows you how many objects were scanned, whether it was manual or scheduled, elapsed time and scan options. An export button lets you copy the report to the clipboard or a text file for future reference.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price

Quarantined files, such as potentially unwanted programs, are held harmless, waiting for you to restore them or deleted them if they are, in fact, unwanted. The settings let you configure what to do with quarantined files.

A two-step exclusion process gives you the options to exclude particular websites, applications, files or previously-detected exploits from being detected in future scans. Again, the interface is quick and intuitive.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

Protection

25% – Terrible

Malwarebytes fell down in this area. Since 2015, it hasn’t been tested in any of the three labs we use. That’s an eternity in the computer world.

Malwarebytes has combined its remediation software with its antivirus package since then. The closest thing left to it is if you let the free Premium package lapse after the 14-day trial. Every feature except the remediation feature is disabled after that.

We also use the Anti-Malware Testing Standards Organization to check feature settings and the Wicar website to gauge protection performance.

Amtso runs antivirus software through a thorough check of its ability to handle the download of malware, compressed malware, potentially unwanted applications, phishing, and cloud protection. Malwarebytes failed on all of them. We tested it with several types of infected zip files and it didn’t catch any of them.

Windows Defender, which we’d disabled, pulled a Dracula on us and came back to life to catch two of the infected files that Malwarebytes said were okay.

Wicar conducts most the same tests, with the addition of a trojan website that Malwarebytes caught and blocked us from accessing. That was the only test it passed.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

Amtso and Wicar use an industry standard EICAR antivirus test file that is universally agreed upon to be used in testing. The file is harmless. It is only used to help users verify that their antivirus software is correctly configured and working. We let Malwarebytes install with its default settings and it missed everything but one trojan. That kind of performance is unacceptable.

That said, Malwarebytes is intended for cleanup more than anything else. On that front, it’s an excellent program. However, for real-time scanning, we recommend you stick with our top-rated provider, Bitdefender.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

Support

50% – Poor

Malwarebytes doesn’t have good support on its website. We found videos, along with options for chat and telephone support, but the results weren’t impressive. We clicked the chat button and received a mostly blank screen telling us the representatives weren’t available.

Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price

Clicking the “contact support” button wasn’t much better.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

It led us to a screen where we were prompted to create a help desk ticket with no indication of how long it would take to receive a response. We opted not to waste our time because help desk turnaround generally averages one to two days with most companies.

There is a community forum, but navigating forums can be a daunting task when you’re looking for an answer to a specific question. The videos we found are basic and don’t go into much detail. They’re mainly there for installation and using the software. Given the intuitive nature of the interface, they are mostly redundant.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

The Verdict

Malwarebytes has a wonderful interface, a lot of features, a good price structure and an innovative setup allowing you to test the entire working package for free for 14 days. What drags it down is the poor test performance and substandard customer support. Lab testing is almost nil and it failed our performance testing except for finding one trojan on a test website.

In all fairness, the company may have chosen to opt out of using the EICAR antivirus test file for its software. Since the file is harmless, that doesn’t hurt anything. We weren’t able to contact the company to ask about it, though, so in the absence of contrary information, we have to take the test results at face value.

Unless you’ve had a different experience from ours that can be tested and repeated, you should check out our other antivirus reviews.

What do you think of Malwarebytes? Does it work for you? Let us know in the comments below. Thanks for reading.

 

Malwarebytes Review

A fast, but questionable service.

Malwarebytes Antivirus is a very fast service that, as one of the few of its kind, offers a 14-day trial. However, its lab results disappoint and we’re not too sure about its interface, either. Read our full Malwarebytes review for the details.
 

Summary of Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

Description

Avast Free Antivirus is an efficient and comprehensive antivirus program. It is one of the most popular antivirus programs available, thanks to the reliable and trustworthy brand that Avast have created. The key features that continue to make Avast Free Antivirus so popular are the easy UI, optimized scanning options and continuously updated database of virus definitions.

Simple, improved UI

The latest version includes a much simpler and quicker to use UI than previous versions. Key features can be easily reached in the sidebar and the homepage is now customizable so you can access the tools you use most often directly. The overall appearance is clean and uncluttered, with buttons intuitively labelled and positioned.

Comprehensive Protection

Avast are constantly updating their database of virus definitions, meaning your computer will be protected against the latest spyware, viruses and potentially hazardous websites. Avast’s large and active community quickly alerts the development team of new security threats which are swiftly countered and added to Avast’s significant database. The browser add-on further improves computer security with features like cookie and social tracking blocking.

Speed

Avast Free Antivirus comes with a range of standard scanning options, based on depth and speed. Rapid scan will suffice in most cases – targeting removable media and the files you select, identifying security threats in usually less than a minute. A startup scan will launch automatically on boot up and is a useful, regular security check. The optimized scan engine in the latest version means scanning of text content is significantly faster than previous versions. Scanning of EXE files is around also faster. Improved memory usage means Avast Free Antivirus should cause less strain on your system so you can continue with other tasks faster.

Summary

Avast Free Antivirus is definitely one of the best free total security managers available. It is relatively lightweight and efficient, while still providing comprehensive security protection. The browser add on can slow browsing speed and the scanning might not be as detailed as some premium antivirus options. But the simple, effective UI and strong security capabilities make Avast Free Antivirus a very good choice for those looking for free computer security.

Technical

Title:Avast Free Antivirus 19.5.4444 for WindowsFile size:228.54 kBRequirements:

  • Windows 7,
  • Windows 10,
  • Windows 8 64-bit,
  • Windows 10 64-bit,
  • Windows 7 64-Bit,
  • Windows 8

Language:English

Available languages:

  • English,
  • Italian,
  • French,
  • Spanish,
  • Polish,
  • Chinese,
  • German,
  • Japanese

License: Freeware

Date added: Tuesday, May 21st 2019

Author: Avast Software

https://www.avast.com

SHA-1:e1cd96f93794409f9f5f550e6fd6fd845ea13ca8

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

 

How to install Malwarebytes

Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware software is a program you can use to protect your computer from spyware, adware, and other malicious software. For maximum protection, Promokam recommends that you use Malwarebytes once a month.

Download & Install Malwarebytes

The version of Malwarebytes you will download is free. Malwarebytes is distributed for free by the developer for personal use.
Note: The free version of Malwarebytes requires you to check for updates before every scan. These updates are completed automatically in Malwarebytes Anti-Malware PRO.

  1. Go to https://www.malwarebytes.com/antimalware/.
  2. Click Download free version. You may be redirected to another site; follow the instructions on that page to download Malwarebytes.
    Note: If prompted to purchase Malwarebytes, decline and proceed with the free version.
  3. Save the installation file to your computer.
  4. After the download is complete, double-click the file to begin installing Malwarebytes.
  5. Follow the instructions on the installation screen. Note: Make sure Enable free trial of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware PRO is unchecked.
  6. After you finish installing Malwarebytes, update its malware definitions before you scan your computer.

Also read: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

Update Your Malware Database

Updating your malware database ensures Malwarebytes can detect the newest forms of malicious software. You should always update Malwarebytes before running a scan.

  1. Make sure you are connected to the Internet.
  2. Open Malwarebytes. Windows 7 or Vista may prompt you with a User Account Control window, asking if you want to allow Malwarebytes to make changes to your computer. Click Yes.
  3. Malwarebytes will generally prompt you to download and install any available updates when you open the program. To check for and install updates manually, click the Update tab, then click Check for Updates.

Run Malwarebytes

If running scans with Malwarebytes and Sophos Endpoint Security do not resolve problems you are experiencing with your computer, contact the IT Help Center.

  1. On Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware screen, click the Scanner tab. The Scanner window will open.
  2. On the Scanner window, select one of the first two options:
    • Perform quick scan: Recommended in most cases.
    • Perform full scan: Select this option if a quick scan has not solved your problem.
  3. Click Scan. If you are running a quick scan, Malwarebytes will start scanning. If you are running a full scan, select the disk drive to scan, then click Scan.
  4. If Malwarebytes detects a threat, it will place the suspicious file in quarantine. After the scan is complete, click the Quarantine tab and review the threats Malwarebytes detected:
    • Malwarebytes may occasionally classify a legitimate program as malware. If you think Malwarebytes quarantined a legitimate program, select its name and click Restore.
    • To permanently delete a malware program, select its name and click Delete.
    • If you’re not sure whether the threat is malware or a legitimate program, contact the IT Help Center.
  5. After the scan is complete and you have addressed any threats placed in quarantine, click Exit to close Malwarebytes.

Also read: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

How to Use Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware is a powerful, free tool that gets rid of adware and other unwanted programs. Here's how to use it.

How to scan your PC with Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

1. Click "Scan Now" in the screen that appears when you run Malwarebytes Anti-Malware the first time. Before the scan begins, the application will check for updates to the malware database.

How to Use Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

2. Pay attention to the "Threat Scan" screen while Malwarebytes Anti-Malware scans your PC.

How to run Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

3. Review the results once Malwarebytes Anti-Malware has finished the scan. If you think an item should not be quarantined, uncheck it. Otherwise, click "Quarantine Selected."

How to install Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

4. Click the "Reports" tab and make sure "Scan Report" is selected, then click "View Report" for more detailed results.

How to download Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

5. Click on the "Quarantine" tab to view quarantined items.

How to Use Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

6. Click individual items in Quarantine to delete them.

How to download free Malwarebytes Anti-Malware

7. Restart your computer to complete the malware-removal process.

Also read: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

Yes, you can get it from promokam.com the most trusted free premium software download site, and not from malwarebytes.com itself.

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware is a powerful, free tool that gets rid of adware and other unwanted programs.

Note: Malwarebytes no longer lets you download its free version directly. Instead, you must download and install a 14-day trial of the paid version. Just ignore the suggestions to upgrade to the paid version, and the software will revert to the free version after two weeks. (You'll have to endure a period of slow performance while the trial version competes with your regular antivirus software.) Or click here to download the Malwarebytes for FREE with free license and setup guide.

Yes, the free version of Malwarebytes Anti-Malware is safe for Microsoft Windows (32-bit and 64-bit) and Android. You’ll get better protection with the paid version, but that’s normal. You can also download the premium version for FREE with the license on Promokam.com. SImply click HERE to start download from the official website.

However, I do need to mention one very important point: there is a difference between “anti-malware” and “anti-virus” software. Malware is a category of infection programs which include viruses, but viruses have been around much longer (as far back as 1971) than most types of malware (since 2000, for adware and spyware). Also, viruses are typically destructive while malware is usually parasitic.

As indicated HERE have indicated, Malwarebytes is a safe program but you shouldn’t solely rely on it to protect your computer or smartphone. Anti-malware programs aren’t designed to remove viruses.

Fortunately, Windows has Defender anti-virus already built-in, and it’s pretty decent. Plus, it’s free, so that’s a two-fer. Regarding Android smartphones, the Google Play Store offers the “Malwarebytes Security: Virus Cleaner, Anti-Malware” app. It looks pretty solid, but after the free 30-day trial you’ll have to pay a monthly subscription to continue preventing infections.

I’d say it’s worth the peace of mind, and in tech, it’s better to be safe than sorry.

No. Malwarebytes (formerly known as Malwarebytes Anti-malware) is primarily a scanner that scans and removes malicious software, including rogue security software, adware, and spyware. (Wikipedia)

Malwarebytes can be said to be good relatively. Check out our review score for Malwarebyes HERE. Malwarebytes is an anti-malware program. It detects and removes ad\spy ware you got from sites. It also has an active protection so you will not download malware after installing the program. You use these kinds of programs (Microsoft security essentials is another really good one) in addition to an anti-virus.

Malwarebytes is totally legit as per our review.

There is a free version of Malwarebytes that looks for and eliminates malware, but it needs to be started manually. So, to be clear, Malwarebytes is a legal and legitimate anti-malware software application.

Malwarebytes FREE version download on promokam.com

After the trial, you can choose to continue using Free or upgrade to paid Premium. You can get the completely FREE version of Malwarebytes from HERE.

The free version of Malwarebytes 3.0 does not include real-time protection in its freeware mode. It is only an advanced on-demand cleaner that detects and removes malware when you run a scan.

Top Best Free Malware remover.

If you're looking for the best free anti-malware software for Windows – whether it's a whole new security package, or just an additional program to give your regular antivirus a boost – then you've come to the right place.

Here is our definitive list of the best free anti-malware software, and choosing the right software for your needs is essential, as malware continues to be a threat and a concern for us all.

It's not just viruses we're talking about here, but also annoying programs such as adware, that can embed themselves in your web browser and add toolbars or change you homepage. Not only are these annoying, but they also pose a serious security risk.

Getting the best antivirus you can is an excellent first line of defence for your PC, but it's often a good idea to install additional anti-malware software to boost your protection from a more diverse range of threats. Alternatively, you could replace your existing security software with a whole new suite designed to protect against all kinds of malware - see our best free antivirus software.

  • Bitdefender Antivirus Free Edition.
  • AVG AntiVirus Free.
  • Malwarebytes Anti-Malware.
  • SpyBot Search & Destroy.
  • Emsisoft Emergency Kit.
  • Avast anti-virus.

Also read: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

How to remove malware for free

How to remove malware from your Windows PC

How do you remove malware for free?

Beware the signs of a PC plagued by malware: slower-than-usual performance, a sudden spate of pop-ups, and other anomalous issues. Yes, out-of-the-ordinary behavior is sometimes the result of hardware conflicts, but your first action should be to rule out the possibility of infection by a virus, spyware, or other nefarious entity—even if you have an antivirus program installed.

Follow this step-by-step guide for instructions on how to get rid of malware.

Step 1: Enter Safe Mode

Before you do anything, you need to disconnect your PC from the internet and don’t use it until you’re ready to clean your PC. This can help prevent the malware from spreading and/or leaking your private data.

If you think your PC may have a malware infection, boot your PC into Microsoft’s Safe Mode. In this mode, only the minimum required programs and services are loaded. If any malware is set to load automatically when Windows starts, entering in this mode may prevent it from doing so. This is important because it can make removing the nefarious files easier since they’re not actually running or active.

AV SUITE CHEAT SHEET

Our quick-hit recommendations:

  • Best overall antivirus suite: Norton Security Premium[symantec.com]
  • Best budget antivirus suite: AVG Internet Security[avg.com]
  • Best antivirus suite for newcomers: Trend Micro Maximum Security[trendmicro.com]

Sadly, Microsoft has turned the process of booting into safe mode from a relatively easy process in Windows 7 and Windows 8 to one that is decidedly more complicated in Windows 10. To boot into Windows Safe Mode, first, click the Start button in Windows 10 and select the Power button as if you were going to reboot, but don’t click anything. Next, hold down the Shift key and click Reboot. When the full-screen menu appears, select Troubleshooting, then Advanced Options, then Startup Settings. On the next window click the Restart button and wait for the next screen to appear (just stick with us here, we know this is long). Next, you will see a menu with numbered startup options; select number 4, which is Safe Mode. Note that if you want to connect to any online scanners you’ll need to select option 5, which is Safe Mode with Networking.

You may find that your PC runs noticeably faster in Safe Mode. This could be a sign that your system has a malware infection, or it could mean that you have a lot of legitimate programs that normally start up alongside Windows. If your PC is outfitted with a solid-state drive it’s probably fast either way.

Step 2: Delete temporary files

How do you remove malware for free?You can use Windows 10’s built-in disk cleanup utility to rid your system of unnecessary temp files.
PCWorld

Now that you’re in Safe Mode, you’ll want to run a virus scan. But before you do that, delete your temporary files. Doing this may speed up the virus scanning, free up disk space, and even get rid of some malware. To use the Disk Cleanup utility included with Windows 10 just type Disk Cleanup in the search bar or after pressing the Start button and select the tool that appears named Disk Cleanup.

Step 3: Download malware scanners

Now you’re ready to have a malware scanner do its work—and fortunately, running a scanner is enough to remove most standard infections. If you already had an antivirus program active on your computer, you should use a different scanner for this malware check, since your current antivirus software may not have detected the malware. Remember, no antivirus program can detect 100 percent of the millions of malware types and variants.

There are two types of antivirus programs. You’re probably more familiar with real-time antivirus programs, which run in the background and constantly watch for malware. (Another option is an on-demand scanner, which searches for malware infections when you open the program manually and run a scan. You should have only one real-time antivirus program installed at a time, but you can have many on-demand scanners installed to run scans with multiple programs, thereby ensuring that if one program misses something a different one might find it.

If you think your PC is infected, we recommend using an on-demand scanner first and then following up with a full scan by your real-time antivirus program. Among the free (and high-quality) on-demand scanners available are BitDefender Free EditionKaspersky Virus Removal ToolMalwarebytesMicrosoft’s Malicious Software Removal ToolAvast, and SuperAntiSpyware.

Step 4: Run a scan with Malwarebytes

For illustrative purposes, we’ll describe how to use the Malwarebytes on-demand scanner. To get started, download it. If you disconnected from the internet for safety reasons when you first suspected that you might be infected, reconnect to it so you can download, install, and update Malwarebytes; then disconnect from the internet again before you start the actual scanning. If you can’t access the internet or you can’t download Malwarebytes on the infected computer, download it on another computer, save it to a USB flash drive, and take the flash drive to the infected computer.

After downloading Malwarebytes, run the setup file and follow the wizard to install the program. Once the program opens, it will automatically activate a trial of the paid version that enables real-time scanning. You won’t get charged after the trial ends, however—by default, the program reverts to the standard free version in 14 days. In the meanwhile, you can disable the real-time scanning for those two weeks if you prefer.

To run a scan, switch from the Dashboard tab to the Scan tab. Keep the default scan option (“Threat Scan”) selected and click the Start Scan button. It should check for updates before it runs the scan, but make sure that happens before you proceed.

How do you remove malware for free?

PCWorld

Choose Threat Scan to perform a basic analysis of your computer’s most commonly infected files.

Though it offers a custom-scan option, Malwarebytes recommends that you perform the threat scan first, as that scan usually finds all of the infections anyway. Depending on your computer, the quick scan can take anywhere from 5 to 20 minutes, whereas a custom scan might take 30 to 60 minutes or more. While Malwarebytes is scanning, you can see how many files or objects the software has already scanned, and how many of those files it has identified either as being malware or as being infected by malware.

If Malwarebytes automatically disappears after it begins scanning and won’t reopen, you probably have a rootkit or other deep infection that automatically kills scanners to prevent them from removing it. Though you can try some tricks to get around this malicious technique, you might be better off reinstalling Windows after backing up your files (as discussed later), in view of the time and effort you may have to expend to beat the malware.

Once the scan is complete, Malwarebytes will show you the results. If the software gives your system a clean bill of health but you still think that your system has acquired some malware, consider running a custom scan with Malwarebytes and trying the other scanners mentioned earlier. If Malwarebytes does find infections, it’ll show you what they are when the scan is complete. Click the Remove Selected button in the lower left to get rid of the specified infections. Malwarebytes may also prompt you to restart your PC in order to complete the removal process, which you should do.

How do you remove malware for free?

PCWorld

Malwarebytes presents the results of its scan and lets you remove the offending bits with one click.

If your problems persist after you’ve run the threat scan and it has found and removed unwanted files, consider running a full scan with Malwarebytes and the other scanners mentioned earlier. If the malware appears to be gone, run a full scan with your real-time antivirus program to confirm that result.

Also read: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

How to know I have malware

The presence of malware sometimes is obvious, even though you might not know how it got on your device. A lot of people have no idea that malware has been installed until their computers or devices start acting abnormally. Symptoms of malware may appear obvious or discrete.

How to tell if you may have malware and what features to look for in strong malware protection

Do I have malware?

Malware — short for malicious software — refers to programs specifically engineered to compromise computers or other devices. Malware can present itself in many forms such as viruses, Trojan horses, worms, adware, ransomware and spyware. All forms of malware are designed to compromise the safety of your devices and the data stored on them. This might allow cybercriminals to access your personal data and, in some cases, use that data to commit identity theft.

Does this sound like something you want to avoid? You’re not alone. Nobody wants malware on their computer. Learning to be proactive about your computer’s security and having strong malware protection is a smart way to avoid a malware intrusion

Here’s a look at a few red flags that can indicate a malware problem.

Possible signs of malware infection

The presence of malware sometimes is obvious, even though you might not know how it got on your device. A lot of people have no idea that malware has been installed until their computers or devices start acting abnormally.

Symptoms of malware may appear obvious or discrete. Knowing how to detect these dangerous intrusions can help you determine how to fix the issue.

You might notice changes to the behavior of your computer or device, such as strange ads or pop-up windows — even when you’re not surfing the web. You may also notice unwanted changes to your browsers’ behavior and changes to its homepage, a slower overall experience on your computer, and a sudden lack of storage space.

Watch out for ads that pop up a few seconds after a webpage is done loading. These ads sometimes contain inappropriate content. They might display flashing colors and be difficult to close, while blocking what you’re trying to view.

How did I get malware?

Malware is usually installed unintentionally after the user has taken missteps.

For instance, malware can be installed accidentally by clicking on a malicious link and can be hidden or masked by other software. This often happens when you download content from unknown or untrustworthy sources. Seemingly harmless downloads, like screen savers, toolbars, and torrents, may be likely suspects.

Another reason you might find malware on your computer? It could be because your antivirus software or anti-malware software, operating systems, or other programs on your computer and other connected devices are out of date. Updating security features is just as important as having them in the first place, so you’ll need to have the latest security protection in place. If you don’t have quality antivirus or security software installed on your computer and devices, or if you don't keep it running the most recent security updates and virus definitions, you could be at risk of malware intrusion.

Malware protection: How to avoid malware

Computer security should begin with strong, reliable antivirus and anti-malware software. It’s smart to make this a priority on your home computer and any other devices you may have. Installing security software is one of the best things you can to do to avoid malware infections.

Be sure to run periodic diagnostic scans with your antivirus or anti-malware software. You can set it up so the program runs scans automatically during regular intervals. Configure your settings to run a malware detection scan at least once a week, preferably at night when the computer is less likely to be in use to avoid interruptions.

What else can you do? It’s a good idea to be aware of your behavior online. Personal education is one of your first lines of defense against malware.

For example, always be wary of emails from unknown sources — often called phishing emails. If your gut tells you something looks suspicious or unfamiliar, don’t click on embedded links, documents, or photos.

Another tip: help keep your personal information safe with encryption. That’s the process of helping protect personal data by using a “secret code” to scramble the data you send and receive from your devices so that it can’t be read by anyone who doesn’t have the code key.

You can also use a firewall, either on the modem or each computer, and be sure to protect each of your online accounts with a unique, complex password.

Stay proactive with your cyber security and be vigilant while using the internet. These are some of the best ways to help ensure malware protection across your devices.

9 key features of strong anti-malware protection

Your second line of protection against malware is to install a strong anti-malware software program. That’s because even if you’re vigilant with robust passwords and cautious about your downloads, malware can sometimes still take hold. Even downloads from seemingly reputable websites or known senders could have malware embedded.

But it doesn’t stop there. All security software products are not created the same. Different anti-malware programs protect at different levels, and free malware protection is often inadequate. Here are a few of our top recommendations for features to look for when deciding on the right anti-malware security software for your needs.

1. Regular program checks

A key feature of any anti-malware software you consider should be that it runs checks on all newly downloaded programs to ensure they don’t contain viruses or other types of malicious software. One form of malware is ransomware, which can allow a cybercriminal to encrypt and steal the data stored on your device. Cybercriminals may demand a ransom to decrypt and restore access your device; however, there's no guarantee you’ll get your data back, even if you pay the ransom.

How do you get ransomware? You may install ransomware unwittingly by downloading a program you thought was safe, or clicking on a link embedded with malware.

2. Computer scans

Robust anti-malware software such as Norton Security will run regular, scheduled scans across your whole computer. These scans will help provide an additional layer of protection against malware harming your system by checking for infections on a regular basis. If you do end up with a virus, you can use the free Norton Power Eraser to help remove malware.

3. Software updates

With new types of malware surfacing regularly, it’s critical that your anti-malware program can be configured to run updates automatically. These updates will equip your devices with the latest patches to recognize and protect against new threats.

4. Scans of suspicious websites

Your anti-malware software should detect and flag suspicious websites. For example, some fake websites are specifically designed to look like real sites with the goal of phishing, or tricking you into sharing your passwords or account numbers.

5. Spam-filtering technology

A strong anti-malware program should use email spam-filtering technology to help protect against suspicious messages that try to entice a user to click on malicious links. Part of this filtering involves isolating these potentially malicious emails in quarantine, which then allows you to determine if those messages are safe.

6. Heuristics

Another form of anti-malware analysis is known as heuristics. Heuristics can spot malware by looking at its behavior and characteristics as opposed to relying only on its knowledge of malware definitions, or signatures. Heuristics can provide an extra layer of security by enabling an anti-malware program to detect and eradicate threats that were not detected in prior scans.

7. Sandboxing

If your security software detects a potentially-malicious program, it can perform a test by running that program in a protected, enclosed space on your computer known as a sandbox. If the suspicious program is determined to be malicious, your anti-malware software should be capable of removing it.

8. Password and account management

Another key feature you should look for in a strong anti-malware software is safeguarding your online account information. Password management tools will help ensure your passwords are strong — and that you aren’t neglectful in creating them. Some password managers will also help you create passwords that are unique and complex, and then store them — along with sensitive data such as your credit card or other account information — in an encrypted online vault.

9. Usability

An anti-malware program’s usability is a less obvious but important feature. Antivirus software programs should be easy to install and use. If the process is difficult, you might not install them correctly or use them regularly and effectively.

Cybercriminals have many reasons for attempting to install malware on unsuspecting devices, such as accessing your personal information, passwords, banking credentials, and other private data. What can you do to help protect yourself? Be vigilant in your online activity. Install reputable anti-malware security software. These are important proactive steps you can take that can help secure your devices, reputation, finances, and identity.

Answered by: Norton

Also read: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

You can scan your device with Bitdefender for free.

Unlike on-demand virus scanners, Bitdefender Antivirus Free Edition doesn't need to be "turned on" or started each time you want it to check for malware since it canrun all the time. Bitdefender Antivirus Free Edition provides constant virus protection, also called on-access or resident protection, for free.

Is Malwarebytes Premium Worth It?

A question I often get asked by readers is “Is Malwarebytes Premium worth it?”.   This is a very valid question!  You don’t want to waste your hard earned dollars on a crappy or unnecessary program.  There is a free and a premium version of Malwarebytes and they have different features.  The free version is very bare bones while the premium version boasts a lot more functionality.  But is that functionality worth buying the premium version?  Let’s take a look:

Version Features

Malwarebytes Free – This version of Malwarebytes is just the basic search and remove function for malware that already exists on your computer.  That’s about it.  So if you have some weird adware or keylogger on your computer you can download Malwarebytes for free to remove it.  However, that’s where it ends.  There is no protection against new threats, which can be a problem with newer attacks that work fast and are more aggressive.

Malwarebytes Premium – The premium version adds a lot more functionality and protection.

  • Prevents spyware and malware infections – the premium version will stop spyware and malware from installing itself on your computer, whether through a sneak attack, drive by installation, or a “piggyback” installation.
  • Stops Ransomware attacks – probably the most costly and damaging attack, ransomware locks up all of your files behind a very powerful encryption.  You then have to pay the hackers for the “key” to break the encryption and free your files.  Ransomware is almost impossible to remove once it’s on your computer.  However, Malwarebytes can stop this before it gets on your computer.
  • Internet Browsing Protection – Malwarebytes will monitor your internet browsing and stop you from visiting or being redirected to a site that is potentially hazardous.  This means you’ll be safe from sneaky redirects that can exist on websites and even in the ads on a website.
  • Automatic protection updates – this means that Malwarebytes is constantly updating its protection algorithms utilizing what they call “machine learning technology”.  Since they have access to millions of malware reports they can stay abreast of all the latest malware technology.  They then automatically update and apply this to your computer’s protection system.
  • Automatic updates of latest definitions – The premium version automatically checks for new malware definition updates and upgrades the software for you.  If you have the free version it will not automatically update the malware definitions for you.  You’ll have to do this manually or re-install the latest version.  This is a lot of effort and most people will miss a step, leaving themselves open to an attack.

So What Does This Mean?

This might be a lot to digest.  However, the important key is that Malwarebytes Premium vs Malwarebytes Free is basically down to the fact that the premium version will stop an attack before it gets on your computer.

If you think you can just do without the automatic protections, then you could be in for a rude awakening.  Malware can sometimes lock up your computer so badly that you won’t even be able to use the free version in the first place to remove it.

Additionally, new malware technology is designed to work so fast that it can quickly get what it needs before it’s detected and removed.  Unless, of course, you stop it before it gets on your PC in the first place.

My Experience With Premium

Case in point: I was using the Premium version (that I bought myself) and I accidentally typed in the address of one of my favorite cryptocurrency websites wrong, and pressed enter.  After I pressed enter I realized my mistake but it was too late.  My browser went into a crazy redirection spiral, and I thought I was going to get seriously attacked by some malware (and because it was related to cryptocurrency I thought my accounts might be at risk).

However, Malwarebytes Premium stepped in and stopped the redirect spiral before it loaded anything.  It came up with a splash page on my browser that the website was not safe.  In this case, it had redirected me to something called “inclk.com” which is highly suspect.

So, I have decided that I’m going to continue to run Malwarebytes Premium on my computer.  I do too much banking and personal finance on my machine to risk getting infected.  And it only takes a small typo to get sent down the rabbit hole like I almost did.

Conclusion

I definitely recommend the premium version.  There’s nothing wrong with the free version, but it’s just too “after the fact” for me to be comfortable with. If you want the best security for your computer then definitely get Malwarebytes Premium.  It’s definitely worth it.

Get Malwarebytes For Windows

Get Malwarebytes For Mac

Get Malwarebytes For Android

Also read: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

The cost of Malwarebytes

The free version of Malwarebytes should never be your only antivirus software, but having it can only help when malware disaster strikes.

Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.

Malwarebytes for iOS (iPhone, iPad, iPod) is only available on the App Store in the United States, Canada, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, as well as Turks and Caicos. After you download the app, upgrade to Premium to activate features like Call Protection and Web Protection. Your first 30 days of Premium are free. After that, Apple will charge you $1.49 per month, or $11.99 per year, depending on your preference.

Malwarebytes for iOS is optimized for iPhone, but iPad and iPod users can still take advantage of Premium Web Protection and Ad Blocking.

Please note that due to Apple's restrictions, Malwarebytes for iOS cannot be purchased as part of a bundle, on the Malwarebytes site, or through an affiliate. If you have an unused product license from a bundled purchase that you'd like to use on Malwarebytes for iOS, please contact support to learn about your options.

Also read: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

Download and install Malwarebytes for Android

How to get Malwarebytes Android app

Malwarebytes for Android, formerly known as Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Mobile, is a Malwarebytes app designed for Android devices.  Malwarebytes for Android is available from the Google Play Store.  See the instructions in this article to install Malwarebytes on Android devices. These steps also apply to re-installation, or how to get back the program in case of an accidental uninstall.

Download Malwarebytes for Android

  1. On your Android device, open the Google Play Store  app.
  2. To search the Google Play Store, tap the Google Play banner.
    Download and install Malwarebytes for Android
  3. Enter Malwarebytes for Android, then tap  Malwarebytes for Android in the list of results.
    Download and install Malwarebytes for Android
  4. Tap Install.
    Download free Malwarebytes for Android
  5. When Malwarebytes for Android is finished installing, tap Open to begin using Malwarebytes for Android.
    malwarebytes free download for ndroid
  6. The first time Malwarebytes is launched, you are asked to allow Malwarebytes permissions on your Android device. Tap Get started.
    How can I get the Malwarebytes Android app?
  7. Tap Give permission to allow Malwarebytes to access files and folders in order to protect your device. Refer to Malwarebytes permission functions on Android device for details on Malwarebytes for Android permissions.
    Image of Give permission screen in Malwarebytes on Android device.
  8. Tap ALLOW.
    How can I get the Malwarebytes Android app?
  9. You may tap Start Premium trial to enjoy a free 30-day trial of Malwarebytes Premium, with no obligation to purchase. If you wish to use the limited free version, tap SKIP.
    How can I get the Malwarebytes Android app?

To activate a Malwarebytes Premium subscription, see how to Activate Malwarebytes for Android Premium.

Also read: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

How can I get the Malwarebytes Chromebook app?

How to Download and Install Malwarebytes on Chromebook devices

To use Malwarebytes on a Chromebook or other Chrome OS device, download and install the latest version from the Google Play Store. See the following instructions to download and install Malwarebytes on Chromebook. These steps also apply to re-installation, or how to get back the program in case of an accidental uninstall. To learn more, see the product page for Malwarebytes on Chromebook.

Download and install Malwarebytes

  1. Open the Google Play Store  app.
    Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.
    Refer to Google's support article Install Android apps on your Chromebook if you do not see the Google Play Store app.
  2. Search for Malwarebytes in the Google Play search bar.
    Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.
  3. Click Install.
    Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.
  4. Once Malwarebytes is finished installing, click Open.
    Malwarebytes free download, Malwarebytes license, Malwarebytes review, Malwarebytes setup, Malwarebytes price.
  5. When first opened, Malwarebytes needs your permission to protect your device. Click Give permission.
    How can I get the Malwarebytes Chromebook app?
  6. Click Allow to consent.
    Malwarebytes freed download for Chromebook app

Malwarebytes setup is now complete. If this is your first time installing Malwarebytes on your Chromebook device, enjoy a 30 day trial of Premium. To activate a Malwarebytes Premium subscription, refer to Activate Malwarebytes Premium on Chromebook device.

Also read: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

The length of your free Premium trial depends on the product. When your trial ends, you will lose your protection against threats like spyware, malware, and other threats.

Windows: 14-day trial. At the end of the trial, product reverts to the free version.

Mac: 14-day trial. At the end of the trial, product reverts to the free version.

Android: 30-day trial. At the end of the trial, product reverts to the free version.

iOS: 30-day trial. At the end of the trial, Apple will charge you based on the subscription plan you choose. To avoid a charge, turn off Automatic Renewal in your iTunes settings at least 24 hours before your trial is set to end. After you opt out of auto-renew and your trial expires, the product reverts to the free version.

Chromebook: 30-day trial. At the end of the trial, product reverts to the free version.

Also read: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

What is Malwarebytes 60-day money-back guarantee?

Malwarebytes offers a 60-day money-back guarantee for new subscriptions of its consumer (i.e. Malwarebytes for Home) Windows, Mac, and bundle premium products that have been purchased directly from Malwarebytes. If you are not fully satisfied with your Malwarebytes consumer software you may request cancellation and refund within 60 days of purchase and we will cancel your subscription and refund 100% of your purchase price.

This 60-day money-back guarantee is not applicable for Malwarebytes business, teams, or technician products and does not apply to renewal subscriptions.

Certain exclusions and restrictions may apply to orders purchased through Google Play or Apple App Store. Malwarebytes mobile products purchased directly through these vendors are subject to their respective refund policies and store terms and conditions. Refer to Cancel subscription or request refund for purchase on Google Play  for more information.

If you purchased your Malwarebytes consumer product from other third-party vendors, including retail stores, please contact those vendors directly for more information about their refund policies.

If you have a new subscription purchased from the Malwarebytes website within the past 60 days and would like to request a cancellation and refund of such subscription, please submit a request with our support team directly.

Also read: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

Malwarebytes free vs premium review. Knowing the difference between the free and premium version of Malwarebytes is very important especially as vital issues like security and core functionality are concerned. In order to help you make a better choice, we recommend you read our review as well as the following customer reviews collected by our team.

Malwarebytes free vs premium

Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price Malwarebytes free vs premium customer review
 

About Malwarebytes Anti-Malware for Business

Malwarebytes Anti-Malware for Business is a cloud-based and on-premise solution that provides malware detection and remediation tools. It provides malicious website blocking, ransomware blocking, exploitation protection, and incident response.

The multi-vector protection modules provide static and dynamic detection methods across the attack chain. The remediation module provides immediate response in case of infection and returns the endpoint to a healthy state. The management console provides a dashboard that displays threats, endpoint status, recent activity, and reports. Malwarebytes also offers application hardening, application behavior, web protection, exploit mitigation, ransomware mitigation, payload analysis and policy management features within a suite.

It is compatible with Windows, Mac and Linux operating systems. Support is available via email, online chat and over the phone. Other help options include remote support, online community, knowledge base, videos, user guides, and FAQs.

Full article: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

Malwarebytes free vs premium customer review

Brian from PeachMorph                     Score: 5 stars

Malwarebytes Premium is well worth the money invested!

Hmm...Malwarebytes Premium is a joy and pain to use sometimes, depending on how you look at it. Well, there is fuller assurance in having my computers almost fully protected. However, it can also be tricky to handle, especially when it comes to having MB residing hand-in-hand together with the rest of the users' software in the same computer. One certainly must know how to use it to its fullest potential and advantage in order to really enjoy the use of malware and Trojan killer such as Malwarebytes. But it is money well spent, in my opinion.

Pros

Very effective to use, simple interface and easy software to use! Install it and well-assured of protection against harmful viruses and persistent Trojans. It adds another extra layer of protection over the default Windows Defender virus software. Malwarebytes can quickly scan through my PC and laptop for virus treats and quarantine immediately without me having to worry about my files getting infected. The speed at which MB scans is quick enough without having to leave it run in the background. And that's to me is efficient and fast! In addition, it is able to block websites during my online surfing to warn me of potential sites that potentially contain malware or ransomware. You can buy a license and add up to 10 devices, including Windows and Mac. One can also purchase separately MB licenses for Android and iOS via Google Play Store and Apple App Store respectively. Indeed, this software is a great time saver!

Cons

When such software has gotten much control over our computers, sometimes it can be very intrusive. At some point when I am surfing the web, almost all sites can potentially be blocked by Malwarebytes so much every time I clicked on a link. And that can be very annoying and destroy the joy of a user's experience of surfing the web. Even legal proper sites can be blocked! In that case, I have to manually set exclusions in the software settings to prevent MB from "accidentally" blocking certain sites. Even some software such as ServerPress can get "interfered" from working properly. I certainly did not suspect that until I start to troubleshoot further. Not to mention that MB can be costly to maintain on a yearly subscription basis after having enjoyed the initial discount on the 1st time purchase.

Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price Malwarebytes free vs premium customer review

 

Full article: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

Malwarebytes free vs premium customer review

Renee from Easton Neuropsychology      Score: 5 Stars

If I had a dollar for every time this product had saved one of my computers, I'd be rich.

This saves and cleans my computers, all of them, from every beastie out there, and has never failed me, even when every other product has.

Pros

This software catches and fixes just about everything, including what my antivirus programs won't. It' been around for years, and is reliable. It's cleaned malware and viruses for me that other malware programs didn't, and it's saved me from doing cleanups by hand. I've used their chameleon program to save my laptop when it became infected with a virus that blocked antivirus and malware programs from installing and cut off my internet access and ability to download fixes. It can protect itself from being uninstalled. And their premium program runs and protects you in real time and is well worth the money. In all the years that I've been running Malwarebytes, I'm not sure that I've ever been successfully infiltrated on a computer that I've had running their premium program.

Cons

The customer service is slow and lackluster. I had to contact them a few months ago about some of my subscription licenses. They took days in between responses, and the responses were not helpful, and the reps closed out my ticket without solving my issue. It took three weeks and multiple tries at contacting them. There is no phone support. When you purchase product licenses, they do not all show up on your account on their website, so you need to be really careful and write down the product keys somewhere and keep them. All that said, that was the first time in probably the better part of a decade that I've EVER had to contact them, so it's generally not an issue. I'm guessing that the employees are all out diligently fighting malware, and not doing customer support.

Full article: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

Malwarebytes free vs premium customer review

Anonymous                Score: 4 Stars

Great for Android, average for pc.

I used Malwarebytes for personal use on android and pc. it was an experience of mixed feelings. While it was perfect for android, it was average for on my Pc. Overall, it is very effective for fighting malicious files and malware infected systems on both platforms.

Pros

My first encounter with Malwarebytes Anti-Malware was around July 2018 when my Android phone was taken over by a series of malicious malware that turned my phone into an advert box of all sorts. A friend told me he had a similar issue in the past and was rescued by Malwarebytes. I decided to try it out. Luckily, they had the premium version available for a free one-month trial at the time.
I quickly downloaded, registered and did a scan. It was super effective and easy to navigate.
In less than 5 minutes, my phone was cleaned. I was very Impressed and decided to try out the pc version of the software. And frankly, the functionality and effectiveness of the pc version were quite different from the Android version. It was smooth and fluid on my android but I cannot exactly say the same for the Pc version.

The online and real-time scanner notified me of unsafe websites I visited which was good.
Malwarebytes was designed to make you feel secure and protected from some malicious files or sites.
The interface was clean and simple
It performs as advertised. It detects malware and can clean infected devices.
The paid version can be trusted to protect your pc but at the cost of pc speed during scans.
It was designed to fight malware, it is effective in doing that and should stick to it.

Cons

Malwarebytes software made my pc to lag sometimes at startup.
I felt some functionalities like the Asset policies management to deploy and monitor endpoints were complex and unneeded for personal users. It was complicated for me at least.
I would not recommend it as a standalone antivirus program due to the limitation of its virus scan toolkit.
I still got infected with a Trojan while using the free version.
The pricing can be made more competitive given that it cannot be trusted as a standalone anti-virus.
It should incorporate real-time protection against threats in the free version.

Full article: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

Malwarebytes free vs premium review

Anonymous          Score: 5 Stars

The best virus removal software I've encountered.

Whilst not used by the company I work at as their Anti-Virus system I consider Malwarebytes to be the gold standard for removing viruses that other scanners either don't find or can't remove. I recommend both the paid and free version to anyone who asks me about personal anti-virus as I have found it to be very user-friendly and, as mentioned, extremely powerful.

Pros

Extremely easy to setup
Scans are very quick
Scans take up very little system resources when running
The free version still removes virtually all viruses I've encountered
Paid version actively blocks web pages that contain viruses, prevents executables from delivering payloads, and so much more.
Price: Value ratio is extremely good

Cons

Updates have on several occasions caused issues, one caused a bug that suggested real-time protection was off when it was not, another caused Malwarebytes to consume RAM until the computer crashed. Though fixed quickly perhaps a more thorough testing phase could have prevented these.
The "My Account" web page is a little basic and could definitely be upgraded to improve a number of features such as:
Available devices - this does not provide computer/mobile names or locations, and to deactivate remotely requires the deactivation on all devices at once.
Payment Method - I am yet to find a way to change my address, I moved house several years ago and yet it still shows my old address. I have even contacted support about this without success.
Settings - I would include the option to change home address here.

Full article: Malwarebytes free download, license, review, setup, price

Malwarebytes free vs premium customer review

Racey from Principle Solutions Group   Score: 5 Stars

Malwarebytes has kept my environment malware free for years.

Not having to deal with malware infected machines, ever, at all, period.

Pros

Shortly after I joined the company, we decided to move our IT in-house and away from the managed service provider we had been using. I built our entire IT environment from scratch, and one of the first things I did was deploy Malwarebytes Anti-malware. I had plenty of experience using the product to clean up machines already infected with malware, but deploying it to a clean endpoint and having that endpoint stay clean for more than five years without a single verifiable malware infection is a beautiful thing. With roughly 150 endpoints our environment is smaller than many, but with only two administrators supporting it we really enjoy spending exactly zero minutes each year dealing with infected machines.

Cons

The only possible "con" I could think of is that when I first deployed the solution, it threw out a few false positives due to a couple of registry changes put in place via Group Policy in Active Directory. However, it's hard to say that's much of a con because monitoring suspicious registry changes is a good thing, and whitelisting those changes so it quit generating a false positive was super simple.

 

 

You May Also Like

3 Comments

  1. Great review! And the FAQs section is really interesting and resourceful. Kind of answered all my questions. I look forward to the next review.

    P.S: Malwarebytes overall, remains great anti-malware product.

  2. Features

    0

    Pricing

    0

    User-Friendliness

    0

    Protection

    0

    Support

    0

    This is some great things about Managed Services and Managed Network Services.

  3. Features

    0

    Pricing

    0

    User-Friendliness

    0

    Protection

    0

    Support

    0

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It will always be interesting to read articles from other authors and practice something from their web
    sites.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *